Wyoming (WY) IFTA Fuel Tax

Back
IFTA States
VT MD RI WA MA CT NJ DE SD WY CO NV OR MT NM FL CA AZ IA KS NY MI AL IL OK OH AR PA SC TX GA IN VA MO TN NC KY NH ID UT LA ND WV WI MS ME NE MN

Do I need to register for IFTA in Whoming?

The state of Wyoming considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:

  • Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
  • Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.

The state of Wyoming does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.


How do I apply for an IFTA license in Wyoming?

You must complete the application form (FUEL-003) for IFTA which can be obtained at the Department of Transportation or online at www.dot.state.wy.us/home/trucking_commercial_vehicles/ifta.html


What fees must I pay Wyoming for IFTA?

Wyoming charges a $10 license fee plus $3 per set of decals. You will need one set per qualified vehicle.


What IFTA credentials will Wyoming give me?

Wyoming will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals. A photocopy of the original license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicles. The original license should be kept at your business address in a safe place. Your Wyoming IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.


Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during the quarter?

Yes, the state of Wyoming still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in that quarter.


What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report in Wyoming?

Wyoming charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.


How do I obtain a Wyoming IFTA return?

You can easily generate and file your IFTA return online at ExpressIFTA. Wyoming will also mail you a return 30 days prior to the due date of the report.


Where can I get more information regarding IFTA in Wyoming?

Support Center

FAQ