New Mexico (NM) IFTA
Fuel Tax

  • IFTA Registration
  • Apply for an IFTA Licence
  • IFTA Filing, Penalty rates
  • Other Requirements

Your Form 2290 is Due. File Now

Your Third Quarter IFTA Report is Due on November 1, 2021.

The #1 Online IFTA
Reporting Software

Accurate fuel tax calculations Automatic IFTA rate updates every quarter for all jurisdictions Supports State-specific report formats
Generate your IFTA Report now
Back

Do I need to register for IFTA in
New Mexico?

The state of New Mexico considers am IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:

  • Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
  • Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross
    vehicle weight.

The state of New Mexico does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.


How do I apply for an IFTA license in New Mexico?

You will need to contact New Mexico in regards to receiving an IFTA application. Complete the IFTA application form and submit it as directed.


What fees does New Mexico charge
for IFTA?

New Mexico charges a $3.50 fee for each set of decals. You will need one set per
qualified vehicle.


What credentials New Mexico give me?

New Mexico will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals. A photocopy of the original license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicles. The original license should be kept at your business address in a safe place. Your New Mexico IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.


Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during
the quarter?

Yes, the state of New Mexico still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in
that quarter.


What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report in New Mexico?

New Mexico charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.


How do I obtain a New Mexico
IFTA return?

You can generate and print a Quarterly IFTA return easily at ExpressIFTA. You can also downloaded the return from www.mvd.newmexico.gov and complete it by hand.


Where can I get more information regarding IFTA in
New Mexico?

Access our resource center for more information about tax relief due to COVID-19. Visit Now