Do I need to register for IFTA in Rhode Island ?
The state of Rhode Island considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:
- Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
- Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.
The state of Rhode Island does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.
How do I apply for an IFTA license in Rhode Island?
Complete and submit the completed application, along with the applicable fees, to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.
What fees must I pay Rhode Island for IFTA?
Rhode Island charges a $10 application fee and charges $10 per set of decals.
What IFTA credentials Rhode Island give me?
Rhode Island will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals. A photocopy of the original license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicles. The original license should be kept at your business address in a safe place. Your Rhode Island IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.
Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during the quarter?
Yes, the state of New York still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in that quarter.
What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.
How do I obtain an IFTA return for Rhode Island?
You can easily generate and print your IFTA quarterly return at ExpressIFTA. The IFTA Quarterly Fuel Use Tax Return will be sent to all Rhode Island licensees at least 30 days prior to the due date. The completed return, along with payment, if applicable, is to be mailed in the provided window envelope to the Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s post office box in Albany, New York, at the RPC.
Is there an alternative to IFTA registration in Rhode Island?
If a carrier qualifies as an IFTA licensee but does not wish to participate in the IFTA program, Rhode Island allows you to obtain trip permits in each state you travel through in accordance with the regulations of each member jurisdiction.