Generate your Fourth Quarter IFTA report with TruckLogics. Generate Your IFTA Report Now.

Kansas (KS)
IFTA Fuel Tax

  • IFTA Registration
  • Apply for an IFTA Licence
  • IFTA Filing, Penalty rates
  • Other Requirements

Your Form 2290 is Due. File Now

Your Fourth Quarter IFTA Report is Due on January 31, 2022.

The #1 Online IFTA
Reporting Software

Accurate fuel tax calculations Automatic IFTA rate updates every quarter for all jurisdictions Supports State-specific report formats
Generate your IFTA Report now

How do I know if my vehicle requires
IFTA registration?

The state of Kansas considers a qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:

  • Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
  • Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.

The state of Kansas does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.

How do I apply for an IFTA license in Kansas?

You will need to complete Kansas Application for International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) and submit it to the the Kansas Department of Revenue.

What fees does Kansas charge to register
for IFTA?

Kansas charges $10 for your first qualified motor vehicle, and $1.00 for each additional qualified motor vehicle you have.

What IFTA credentials will Kansas give me?

Kansas will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals for each qualified motor vehicle. A photocopy of the license must be maintained in the cab of each motor vehicle. The original license should be retained at your business address in a safe place. The IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.

Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during
the quarter?

Yes, the state of Kansas still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in that quarter.

What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report in Kansas?

There is a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the taxes, whichever is greater. Interest is calculated on all taxes due to each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you have a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction and is calculated beginning the day after the due date of the return for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.

How do I obtain an IFTA Quarterly Return
for Kansas?

IFTA quarterly use tax returns can be filed online or if you are not able to file online, you can download INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX AGREEMENT (IFTA) Tax Return, complete and submit with any required payment to the Kansas Department of Revenue.

Is there an alternative to IFTA registration
in Kansas?

Instead of obtaining an IFTA license, Kansas allows you to satisfy motor fuels use tax obligations on a trip-by-trip basis if you purchase trip permits for each jurisdiction you are traveling in. You can purchase a Trip Permit at any Motor Carrier Inspection Station along the jurisdiction border or through the Central Permit Office at 785-368-6501.

Where can I get more information regarding IFTA rules and regulations
in Kansas?