Louisiana (LA) IFTA Fuel Tax

Back
IFTA States
VT MD RI WA MA CT NJ DE SD WY CO NV OR MT NM FL CA AZ IA KS NY MI AL IL OK OH AR PA SC TX GA IN VA MO TN NC KY NH ID UT LA ND WV WI MS ME NE MN

Do I need to register for IFTA in Louisiana?

The state of Louisiana considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:

  • Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
  • Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.

The state of Louisiana does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.


How do I apply for an IFTA license in Louisiana?

The application form for Louisiana IFTA can be found at www.expresslane.org


What fees does Louisiana charge for IFTA?

Louisiana charges a one-time $35 application fee and charges $2 per set of decals. One set of decals is required for each qualified vehicle.


What credentials will Louisiana provide me with for IFTA?

Louisiana will give you one IFTA license and one set of decals will be assigned to each IFTA licensee. A photocopy of the license must be maintained in the cab of each motor vehicle. The original license issued to you should be retained at your business address. Your Louisiana IFTA license is valid for the calendar year from January 1 through December 31


Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during the quarter?

Yes, the state of Louisiana still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in that quarter.


What is the penalty and interest rate that Louisiana charges for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report?

Louisiana charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.


How do I obtain a Louisiana IFTA return?

Your Louisiana Quarterly IFTA Return can be completed and generated with ease at ExpressIFTA. If you are comfortable doing IFTA calculations manually, you can also file online at www.expresslane.org


Where can I get more information on Louisiana's IFTA conditions and regulations?

Support Center

FAQ