Do I need to register for IFTA in
The state of West Virginia considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:
- Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
- Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross
The state of West Virginia does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.
How do I apply for an IFTA license in West Virginia?
Complete the West Virginia IFTA License Application and submit to Division of Motor Vehicles.
What fees does West Virginia charge me for IFTA?
West Virginia charges a $5 fee for each set of decals. You will need one set per qualified vehicle.
What IFTA credentials will West Virginia give me?
West Virginia will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals. A photocopy of the original license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicles. The original license should be kept at your business address in a safe place. Your West Virginia IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.
Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during
Yes, the state of West Virginia still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in
What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report in West Virginia?
West Virginia charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.
How do I obtain a West Virginia
You can easily file your IFTA quarterly return at ExpressIFTA. Also, West Virginia will send a return to all IFTA licensees 30 days prior to due date or you can file online at www.transportation.wv.gov.
Where can I get more information regarding IFTA in
Get Schedule 1 in minutes!
E-file Form 2290 Now
- IRS Approved
- Quick, Secure, & Accurate
- Free VIN Corrections
- U.S Based Customer Support