Do I need to register for IFTA in Utah?
The state of Utah considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:
- Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
- Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross
The state of Utah does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by
How do I apply for an IFTA license
To receive your IFTA license and decals, or Special Fuel User permit, send or deliver a completed application, with the appropriate fees, to the Utah State Tax Commission.
After your first IFTA license or Special Fuel User permit is issued, you will be mailed a renewal application in December each year as long as your account is in good standing. Complete the application for renewal and return it with the appropriate fees to the Utah State Tax Commission. Your new IFTA license and decals, or Special Fuel User permit, will be mailed to
What fees must I pay for IFTA in Utah?
Utah charges a $4 fee for each set of decals. You will need one set per qualified vehicle
What IFTA credentials will Utah
Utah will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals. A photocopy of the original license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicles. The original license should be kept at your business address in a safe place. Your Texas IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.
Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during
Yes, the state of Utah still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in
What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report
Utah charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.
How do I obtain an IFTA return
You can easily generate and print your IFTA return
Where can I get more information regarding IFTA in Utah?
Get Schedule 1 in minutes!
E-file Form 2290 Now
- IRS Approved
- Quick, Secure, & Accurate
- Free VIN Corrections
- U.S Based Customer Support