Do I need to register for IFTA in Maine?
The state of Maine considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:
- Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
- Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.
The state of Maine does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.
How do I apply for an IFTA license in Maine?
Maine requires you have an IFTA annual license and annually renewed vehicle decals. Maine's DMV will mail renewal applications by October 15th annually to all active IFTA accounts. If you do not receive an application via postal mail you can call 207-624-9000 ext. 52137.
What fees does Louisiana charge for IFTA?
Maine charges a $5 fee for each set of IFTA decals. Maine requires that you have one set of IFTA decals per qualified motor vehicle.
What IFTA credentials will Maine give me?
Maine will provide you with one IFTA license and one set of decals which will be assigned to each IFTA licensee. A photocopy of you original IFTA license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicle. Your original IFTA license issued to you should be retained at your business address in a safe place. The Maine IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.
Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during
Yes, the state of Maine still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in that quarter.
What penalty and interest rate does Maine charge for filing a late quarterly fuel
Maine charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.
How do I obtain an IFTA return in Maine?
You can complete and generate your Quarterly IFTA returns online at ExpressIFTA. IF you are comfortable doing IFTA calculations on your own you can also e-file directly with the state of Maine and your tax reports will be mailed to you. If you do not receive a tax return by postal mail you can call the Fuel Tax Unit at 207-624-9000 ext. 52136.
Where can I get more information regarding Maine's IFTA conditions
Get Schedule 1 in minutes!
E-file Form 2290 Now
- IRS Approved
- Quick, Secure, & Accurate
- Free VIN Corrections
- U.S Based Customer Support