Delaware (DE) IFTA Fuel Tax

Back
IFTA States
VT MD RI WA MA CT NJ DE SD WY CO NV OR MT NM FL CA AZ IA KS NY MI AL IL OK OH AR PA SC TX GA IN VA MO TN NC KY NH ID UT LA ND WV WI MS ME NE MN

Should I register for IFTA in Delaware?

Delaware considers a qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:

  • Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
  • Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.

Delaware does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.


How do I apply for an IFTA license in Delaware?

The Delaware License Application for International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA), can be generated on ExpressIFTA or obtained from the Delaware Motor Carrier Service Section / IFTA Unit.


What fee Does Delaware charge for IFTA?

There is a $5 fee for each set of decals purchased. Decals are required for all qualified motor vehicles.


What credentials will I receive from Delaware?

You will be issued a single IFTA license (cab card) for your fleet of vehicles and a set of decals for each vehicle. The license is valid from January 1 through December 31. Make photocopies of the original license and place a copy in each of your vehicles. It is important to keep the original license in a safe place. Use the original to make additional copies when adding a vehicle to your fleet throughout the license year.


Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during the quarter?

Yes, Delaware still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in that quarter.


What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report?

There is a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on all delinquent taxes dues each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you have a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction and is calculated beginning the day after the due date of the return for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.


How do I obtain an IFTA return for the state of Delaware?

You can generate your IFTA return and mail it in to Delaware using ExpressIFTA. If you would rather do the calculations yourself, you can go to www.dmv.de.gov/services/TransServ/MC/IFTA/index.shtml or can be downloaded and submitted.


Where can I get more information?

Support Center

FAQ