Do I need to register for IFTA in
The state of New Jersey considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:
- Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross
The state of New Jersey does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.
How do I apply for an IFTA license in New Jersey?
New Jersey IFTA applications must be filled out completely and typed or printed in ink. Submit the completed application along with proof of the principal place of business to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, Motor Carrier Services, IFTA Section, at PO 133, 225 E. State Street, Trenton, NJ 08666-0133. Contact New Jersey directly in regards to receiving the application.
What fees does New Jersey charge
New Jersey charges $10 fee for each set of IFTA decals. You will need one set of IFTA decals per qualified
What IFTA credentials will I receive from New Jersey?
New Jersey will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals. A photocopy of the original license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicles. The original license should be kept at your business address in a safe place. Your New Jersey IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.
Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during
Yes, the state of New Jersey still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in
What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report in New Jersey?
New Jersey charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.
How do I obtain an IFTA return in
You can generate and print your IFTA quarterly tax report easily at ExpressIFTA. New Jersey will send an IFTA return to all IFTA licensees at least thirty (30) days before the due date. Failure to receive the quarterly tax report does not release the licensee from reporting obligations.
Where can I get more information regarding IFTA in
You can get more information by visiting the official MVC website of the State of New Jersey
Generate your IFTA Reports in Minutes with TruckLogics
- Multiple Data Import Options
- Automatic IFTA Rate Updates
- Accurate Tax Calculations
- Supports State-specific Report Formats
Get Schedule 1 in minutes!
E-file Form 2290 Now
- IRS Approved
- Quick, Secure, & Accurate
- Free VIN Corrections
- U.S Based Customer Support