Oklahoma (OK)
IFTA Fuel Tax

  • IFTA Registration
  • Apply for an IFTA Licence
  • IFTA Filing, Penalty rates
  • Other Requirements

Your Form 2290 is Due. File Now

Your Third Quarter IFTA Report is Due on November 1, 2021.

The #1 Online IFTA
Reporting Software

Accurate fuel tax calculations Automatic IFTA rate updates every quarter for all jurisdictions Supports State-specific report formats
Generate your IFTA Report now
Back

Do I need to register for IFTA
in Oklahoma?

The state of Oklahoma considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:

  • Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
  • Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross
    vehicle weight.

The state of Oklahoma does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by
an individual.


How do I apply for an IFTA license
in Oklahoma?

For first-time IFTA registration in Oklahoma you must complete the IFTA License Application.For renewal, you must complete the IFTA Renewal Form that you will receive in the mail
from Oklahoma.


What fees does Oklahoma associate with IFTA?

Oklahoma charges a $2 fee for each set of decals. You will need one set per qualified vehicle.


What IFTA credentials will Oklahoma give me?

Oklahoma will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals. A photocopy of the original license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicles. The original license should be kept at your business address in a safe place. Your Oklahoma IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.


Do I file a quarterly fuel tax report if I didn't run during
the quarter?

Yes, the state of Oklahoma still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in
that quarter.


What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report
in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.


How do I obtain an IFTA return
for Oklahoma?

You can easily generate and print your IFTA return at ExpressIFTA, or complete the return by hand if you are comfortable doing IFTA calculations on your own.


Is there an alternative to IFTA registration in Oklahoma?

The alternative to obtaining an IFTA license in Oklahoma is to purchase a 120-hour fuel permit each time one of your vehicles engages in commercial motor vehicle transportation across Oklahoma state lines.

Where can I get more information regarding IFTA
in Oklahoma?

Access our resource center for more information about tax relief due to COVID-19. Visit Now