How do i know should i need toregister for IFTA in Minnesota?
The state of Minnesota considers an IFTA qualified motor vehicle as one that is designed, used, or maintained for the transportation of persons or property that have:
- Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
- Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds, or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.
The state of Minnesota does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.
How do I apply for an IFTA license in Minnesota?
The Minnesota IFTA license application is available at the DVS IFTA office or at the 10 Minnesota deputy registrar offices. You must complete and submit the IFTA license application to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services Division at 445 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5188.
What fees does Minnesota charge for IFTA?
Minnesota charges a $28 annual filing and licensing fee and charges $2.50 for each set of IFTA decals. You will need one set per qualified vehicle.
What IFTA credentials will I receive from Minnesota?
Minnesota will provide you with one IFTA license and a set of decals. A photocopy of the original license must be maintained in the cab of each one of your qualified motor vehicles. The original license should be kept at your business address in a safe place. Your Minnesota IFTA license is valid for the calendar year January 1 through December 31.
Does Minnesota require me to file an IFTA quarterly fuel tax report even if I didn't run during the quarter?
Yes, the state of Minnesota still requires you to submit a "zero" report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in that quarter.
What is the penalty and interest rate for filing a late quarterly fuel tax report in Minnesota?
Minnesota charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.
How do I obtain a IFTA return for Minnesota?
All licensees in Minnesota can complete and generate an IFTA quarterly return at ExpressIFTA.com. You can also use the IFTA return provided by Minnesota or file electronically with Minnesota at mnec.exploredata.com/loginex.asp if you are comfortable doing IFTA calculations on your own.